Avalon Public School

Opportunity, Learning, Community

Telephone02 9973 1439


Our staff

Get to know our school staff. We're all here to help.

Our professional, university-educated teachers encourage students to develop a love of learning and a desire to succeed. They maintain the highest integrity and concern for your child’s wellbeing.

The principal is responsible for the educational leadership and management of our school. If you would like to speak to the principal, please contact us to make an appointment.

Our school administrative staff can answer inquiries or direct you to the appropriate staff member for help.

In 2020, we have 36 classes from Kindergarten to Year 6. The total school enrolment is 912 students.

The Avalon School community is fortunate to have such an experienced and dedicated school staff to guide our students in their learning. Our outstanding teaching staff enjoys the support of a wonderful team of administrative personnel who oversee the office and grounds operations.

In addition, the school has specialist staff as follows; a teacher-librarian,  a music teacher, 2 physical education teachers and a teacher to support the learning needs of students in literacy and numeracy.

Our Principal, Andy Rankin is assisted by Deputy Principals Lisa Weber and Bianca Howarth in the overall administration of the school as the Senior Executive. They are joined on the School Executive team by Assistant Principals, Ashlea Simonetti, Samantha Bateson, Anne Henderson, Marcelle Balt and Alice Lovett. The School Administration Manager, Kylie Jarrett, assists Mr Rankin with the management of the office staff.

Principal - Andy Rankin

Deputy Principals - Lisa Weber (Years 3-6) and Bianca Howarth (Years K-2)

Assistant Principals -  Anne Henderson (Stage 3), Samantha Bateson (Stage 2), Marcelle Balt (Early Stage 1) and Alice Lovett (Stage 1)

Kindergarten Teachers: 

KB – Marcelle Balt, Annette Evangelinides (Wed)

KH - Taylor Harris

KT - Hayley Trevor

KK – Kate Butcher

KR - Kathy Reid

KP- Vanessa Pearce

Year 1 Teachers: 

1AG  -  Alex Geary

1/2AL - Alice Lovett , Virginia Ferguson (Wed)

1CH - Alyce Castaings (Mon,Tue,Wed) Matilda Heys (Thu, Fri)

1GM - Senem Griffiths (Mon,Tue,Wed) Kylie Martin (Thu,Fri)

1RG - Robyn Ginty

1MS - Megan Steell

Year 2 Teachers: 

2MB - Kirsty Pears

2MG - Monique Gilbert

2ES - Elly Stitt

2NC - Nicole Colebec

2VDR - Verity Davis-Raiss

1/2AL - Alice Lovett , Virginia Ferguson (Wed)

Year 3 Teachers: 

3ES - Vanda Skavaas ( Mon,Tue,Wed) Annette Evangelinides (Thu,Fri)

3GP - Michelle Garrard (Mon,Tu,Wed) Kym Charles (Thu,Fri)

3AS - Amanda Simcic

3MD - Megan Dunbar

3JP - Jo Poynting

Year 4 Teachers: 

4BR - Bronte Rowe

4SJ -Sam Jelf

4VE - Jolan Viviers (Mon,Tue,Wed,Thu) Kara Egerton (Fri)

4SB - Sam Bateson (Mon,Tue,Thu,Fri) Joel Seaton (Wed)

4TT - Tamara Thompson

Year 5 Teachers: 

5OR - Georgia Keresi

5AH - Anne Henderson (Mon,Tue,Thu,Fri) Sami Lhuede (Wed)

5NC - Nathan Casey

5JK - Jillian King

5LF - Lily Fayle

Year 6 Teachers: 

6AS - Ashleigh Sparks

6CW - Cory Whitaker

6JS – Jenny Shlager, John Grice (Wed)

6KL - Kate Lewis

Specialist Staff:

Music - Jen Cincotta

School Psychologist - Poss Logan (Mon,Tue,Thu,Fri)

Library - Elleni Christie (Mon - Fri),  Debbie Lowe (Thu,Fri)

Instructional Leader - Ashlea Simonetti

Physical Education - Judy Malcolm and Elisa Spano (Thu, Fri)

Reading Recovery - Leone Cake

Learning & Support Teacher - Rachel James (Mon,Tue,Wed,Thu) Emily Hobson (Mon,Tue)

School Administration Manager - Kylie Jarrett

School Administration Officers -  Janelle Barber, Cathy Crutcher, Christine Black, Leonie Andrews and Nicole O'Grady

General Assistants: Phill Perks

IT Technician - Alan Moran